Orchestral Concerts

Wiener Symphoniker | Symphonieorchester Vorarlberg

While the Opera at the Festspielhaus takes you to Siberia, the Orchestral Concerts bring masterpieces of Russian conductors to you. It was with passionate dramatic art that Tchaikovsky transformed several of Shakespeare’s works into symphonic fantasies. Personal and societal destinies find great emotional expression not only in his fifth but also in Shostakovich’s tenth symphony. Kian Soltani, who was raised in Vorarlberg, will have his first appearance at Bregenz Festival when he brings Shotakovich’s cello concerto on stage together with the Wiener Symphoniker. Following this, the orchestra dives into the fairy-tale world of One Thousand and One Nights, which Rimski-Korsakow paints in glowing colors of sound. Student Igor Strawinski honored his teacher post mortem with a short opus, which had only been rediscovered in 2015. Additionally, you can experience the fascinating world of the Japanese instrument koto, for which Malika Kishino wrote a solo concert. The stage set of Madama Butterfly makes the perfect backdrop. In the third act of Richard Wagner’s opera, Siegfried discovers his love for a woman for the first time.

  • 25 July 2022 - Wiener Symphoniker, Enrique Mazzola

    25 July 2022 – 7.30 Uhr | Festspielhaus

    Conductor Enrique Mazzola
    Koto Naoko Kikuchi

    Peter I. Tschaikowski The Tempest. Fantasia based on Shakespeare op. 18
    Malika Kishino Concert for koto and orchestra
    Dmitri Schostakowitsch Symphony no. 10 in E minor

  • 31 July 2022 - Wiener Symphoniker, Karina Canellakis

    31 July 2022 – 11.00 a.m. | Festspielhaus

    Conductor Karina Canellakis
    Siegfried Andreas Schager
    Wanderer Greer Grimsley
    Erda Nadine Weissmann
    Brünnhilde Ricarda Merbeth

    Ludwig van Beethoven Leonore overture no. 3
    Richard Wagner Siegfried, third act

  • 8 August 2022 - Wiener Symphoniker, Marie Jacquot

    8 August 2022 – 7.30 p.m. | Festspielhaus

    Conductor Marie Jacquot
    Violoncello Kian Soltani

    Peter I. Tschaikowski Romeo and Juliet. Fantasia overture based on William Shakespeare
    Dmitri Schostakowitsch Concert for violoncello and orchestra no. 1 in E-flat minor 
    Nikolai Rimski-Korsakow Scheherazade op. 35

  • 21 August 2022 - Symphonieorchester Vorarlberg, Leo McFall

    21 August 2022 – 11.00 a.m. | Festspielhaus

    Conductor Leo McFall
    Violin Alina Pogostkina

    Igor Strawinski Chant funèbre
    Sergej Prokofjew Concert for violin and orchestra no. 1 in D major, op. 19
    Peter I. Tschaikowski Symphony No. 5 in E minor, op. 65

  • Prices und Seating Map
    Wiener Symphoniker Symphonieorchester Vorarlberg
    1. Category: EUR 88 1. Category: EUR 54
    2. Category: EUR 74 2. Category: EUR 46
    3. Category: EUR 58 3. Category: EUR 38
    4. Kategorie: EUR 42 4. Category: EUR 32
    5. Category: EUR 28 5. Category: EUR 25
    6. Category: EUR 20 6. Category: EUR 20